View unanswered posts | View active topics

Post a new topicPost a reply
Previous topic | Next topic 

User avatar   Superstar Dolphin Superstar DolphinMember since: 16.08.2004, 10:46Posts: 9884Location: Finland Likes: 189

Post Topic: So I made some trees - UPDATE UPDATE 6.1.2012
PostPosted 14.07.2010, 11:58 
Hi everyone,

As everyone's making their own custom vegetation these days (it was a fad in 2008 last time), I thought I'd also jump on the bandwagon. :P It's about time this community got some new northern trees to bring some more variation to your maps in addition to the Exodus pines and the other pine pack by michi:be, so here goes. Actually I've been making these models since May 2010 (slowly, whenever I have time), but only now I'm starting to be happy with the outcome. ;)

Hi everyone! It's time for a relatively big update... ;)

I have recently reworked the textures and the normal maps of the spruces and the pines, and while I'm at it I thought I might as well throw in a few variations of a birch tree I'm working on. :) The birch is not final, all variations don't have touch bending or LODs, but I'm sure you'll be able to use them either way. The spruce trees have one LOD, touch bending, AI proxies and all that, but the pine trees are discontinued and still don't have LODs or anything special. They're there just for looks. :)

Birch variations:

The birches also have an alternate texture, with sparser, fall coloured canopy:

The normal maps are improved for both the spruce and the pine:

The download can be found HERE, so grab your copy, drop the PAK into your Game folder, and try out my improved trees! :) Not guaranteed to work on CE2. The trees are freely usable for any of your non-commercial projects. If you want to use the models for commercial projects, send me a PM. ;)

Enjoy!